Summer Reading Bingo (Part III)

Summer bingo 3Blackout! I finished by Seattle Public Library summer reading BINGO card. This was such a fun summer reading program. I hope they do it again next year.

Animal, Vegetable Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver

Category: Re-read

I would follow Barbara Kingsolver’s prose nearly anywhere, but it is especially fun to follow it to the intersection of memoir and food politics. This book was every bit as great as I remembered. The contributions form Kingsolver’s daughter and husband add texture to an already beautiful book.

The Horse Whisperer by Nicholas Evans

Category: Set somewhere you’ve always wanted to visit

This book was on the shelf at a place we rented on our summer road trip. My fond memories of the Robert Redford movie by the same title, together with my love of cowboys and free paperbacks, started me turning the pages. I kept turning the pages because the well-paced story filled with untidy emotions and flawed characters drew me in. The book ending, while not necessarily likable seemed more fitting than the revised ending used for the movie adaptation. Counting this as my “always wanted to visit” setting is, admittedly, a bit of a cheat. Yes, I’d like to spend time on a ranch with a rugged cowboy, but if I’d been seeking out a book purely on setting I probably would have picked somewhere more exotic than Montana.

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

Category: A book from your childhood

As a child, I was prohibited from reading this classic about outcasts fighting evil based on my mom’s religious objections. Many sci-fi and fantasy books were painted with her broad “occult” brush. Imagine my surprise when the characters started Bible verses. A good book, but more importantly a good reminder to take the time to investigate before denouncing.

Paper Towns by John Green

Category: Young adult book

John Green is one of my favorite YA authors but this wasn’t one of my favorite YA books. I love Green’s writing but didn’t think this story allowed his skills to shine. The premise and the characters felt forced. That said, a crummy John Green book is still a good book.

harry potter

Harry Potter by JK Rowling

I also enjoyed reading the first three Harry Potter books aloud to Son this month. It has been a ridiculously fun ride for both of us, even if I’m terrible with the voices.

Leave a Reply

