Checkmate, Mr. Darcy

Mr Darcy

STANDPOINT: a way in which something is thought about or considered

Our family got the barfs last week. Well, the girls did; the boys managed to just get nausea.

In our house, being sick entitles kids and grown-ups alike to pajamas all day and unlimited screen time. In our house, the sicker person controls the screen.

That is how I found myself curled up on the couch watching Pride and Prejudice (the Keira Knightley/Matthew Macfadyen version) with an eight-year-old boy last Tuesday.

There was some explaining required (e.g. the mom’s obsession with finding husbands for her daughters, Mr. Wickham’s duplicity) but other things (e.g. Mr. Collins being a fool) were evident to my second grader.

While Son was tracking the plot reasonably well, the emotional undercurrents and subtle shifts in mood were lost on him. For example, when Elizabeth entered Pemberley for the first time, I could feel her regret as she took in the splendor and heard the housekeeper’s devotion to Mr. Darcy. My Son felt something different: envy.

“Mr. Darcy can play life-sized chess on his floor!”

Of all the things I’ve imagined doing with Mr. Darcy, playing chess was never on the list.

front hall

7 thoughts on “Checkmate, Mr. Darcy

  1. Get well soon, Kristina. You’ve got good company with a boy and Mr. Darcy. I much preferred Elizabeth in the BBC miniseries, but Mr. Darcy in the (first) proposal scene in this one is breath-taking. I’ve got a sick boy home today. Maybe we’ll watch it!

    1. We’re finally healthy. Hope your house will be soon as well, Nathalie. Colin Firth will forever be THE Mr. Darcy for me, but I liked the updated version much better than I expected. The absence of the BBC version’s annoying mother was a big plus. 🙂

  2. I would have never thought of playing chess either. Oh, to see life through the eyes of a child! Thank you for sharing! It’s great you can get people in your family to watch this with you. My husband still can’t make it through it awake!

Leave a Reply

