Wordy Wednesday

words

WORDY: using or containing many (usually too many) words

I embrace Wednesdays in my own way. In lieu of a photo, I offer you this random collection of other people’s words that impacted me this week as well as a handful of new words I added to my vocabulary.

Other People’s Words


This week, I’m reading The Word Exchange by Alena Graedon.  I’m about 70 pages in but not sure that I’ll finish the book.  The story hasn’t hooked me the way I hoped it would.  The book is based on an interesting and intriguing version of the future, but just doesn’t fit my reading mood right now.  I want a book with a faster pace that gives me a sense of progress over my morning coffee.  Frankly, I need a book with shorter chapters.  Shallow, but true.  I like Graedon’s writing and hope to try the book again when life has more space for long periods of reading.

Here’s a great passage from the opening chapter:

…Words, I’ve come to learn, are pulleys through time.  Portals into other minds.  Without words, what remains? Indecipherable customs.  Strange rites.  Blighted hearts.  Without words, we’re history’s orphans.  Our lives and thoughts erased….

Words I Had to Ask Webster About


  • Ennui: a lack of spirit, enthusiasm, or interest
  • Perspicacity: of acute mental vision or discernment, keen
  • Ribald: characterized by or using coarse indecent humor

 

11 thoughts on “Wordy Wednesday

  1. I like finding the original meanings of words, too. Right now I’m looking up the word “glorify” and its sidekick “glory”. Keep doing your searches, I love them.

  2. I love the word “ennui”. It’s such a delightful way to say you’re bored. If you like Edward Gorey, you’ll know his charming book “Gashlycrumb Tinies” in which “ennui” makes a feature somewhere in the middle. 😉 I have an interesting (at least to me) story about “perspicacity” that is too long for a comment but I love that word, too.

  3. I do this all the time. I enjoy reading books requiring a quick dictionary check, but I wonder how many of the authors have hit up the thesaurus during the creative process 😉

  4. I love the idea of ‘wordy Wednesday’ – are you going to make this into a regular feature? I have the perfect book for you too. ‘We are all completely beside ourselves’ is a lovely quick easy to get into book – with lots of long words added by the narrators psychologist father! Enjoy

    1. Thanks for the book recommendation. I’ll add it to my TBR list. I was doing Wordy Wednesday regularly, but became a bit of a blogging slacker in January. I’m hoping to be more disciplined in February.

Leave a Reply

