November Reads (2014)

November 2014

The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd

I loved every minute of this inspiring, engaging and sorrowful story set in South Carolina and based loosely on the real-life story of Sarah Grimke.  I haven’t read anything else by Sue Monk Kidd but plan to remedy that promptly.

Poser: My Life in Twenty-Three Yoga Poses by Claire Dederer

It is impossible for me to separate this book from its setting.  Set in north Seattle, it is a book about my backyard.  My preschool co-op. My school tours.  My grocery store.  It was so fun to see my favorite stores and coffee shops show up on the pages of this book.  I like Dederer’s writing style and thought she was able to do a lot with a little. The fact that it felt little was hard for me.  I needed more meat in this memoir.  The struggles weren’t big enough for me to buy into the drama nor small enough to be easily dismissed and enjoyed with laughter.

Drinking: A Love Story by Caroline Knapp

This is an account of the author’s struggle with alcoholism of the high-functioning, privileged background variety.  Full of descriptions of how addiction and the associated secrecy and denial works, I found portions of this book enlightening.  However, like alcoholic behaviors and cycles of addiction, this book was relentless and repetitive.

Half and Half by Lensey Namioka

This book was one of the selections for the Global Reading Challenge at the library – a program intended for 4th and 5th graders – and I wanted a sneak peak at the books ahead for my kiddos.  Set in Seattle, the main character is half Chinese and half Scottish and struggling to balance conflicting priorities and identities at a local cultural celebration.  I’m struggling with what to write for a review other than “meh.”

Because of Winn-Dixie by Kate DiCamillo

Another Global Reading Challenge selection, I opted to read this aloud to Son.  We both loved it.  A powerful story of family, friendship, and flaws.  I love that DiCamillo thinks enough of kid readers to leave some bumps in the story that aren’t ironed out and some problems with no solutions.

3 thoughts on “November Reads (2014)

Leave a Reply

