Wordy Wednesday

words

WORDY: using or containing many (usually too many) words

I embrace Wednesdays in my own way. In lieu of a photo, I offer you this random collection of other people’s words that impacted me this week as well as a handful of new words I added to my vocabulary.  I acknowledge that I am offering you less than the going exchange rate of 1,000 words per picture.  Forgive me.

Other People’s Words


This week, I read Wild by Cheryl Strayed. The third time was indeed a charm.  I’d struggled to get past the beginning of this book twice before.  The first time, I hit the simile “a voice as soft as the penis in his pants” and just couldn’t shake it off.  The second time, I made it a little deeper into the book, but the narrator’s actions and behavior made it impossible for me to root for her enough to make it through three hundred pages about her struggles.  This time it was assigned reading for my memoir class and reading it with a writer’s eye was enough to get me over the initial hurdles I’d hit in previous attempts.  In the end, I ended up really liking the book and appreciating it both as a writer and as a reader.  Here are a few passages that spoke to me:

…Alone had always felt like an actual place to me, as if it weren’t a state of being, but rather a room where I could retreat to be who I really was….

…I couldn’t’ break it down into a list. I couldn’t land on love or security, confidence or a sense of belonging.  A father who loved you as a father should was greater than his parts…

…Foot speed was a profoundly different way of moving through the world than my normal modes of travel. Miles weren’t things that blazed dully past. They were long, intimate straggles of weeds and clumps of dirt, blades of grass and flowers that bent in the wind, trees that lumbered and screeched.  They were the sound of my breath and my feet hitting the trail one step at a time and the click of my ski pole…

Words I Had to Ask Webster About


  • Aphoristic: a terse formulation of a truth or sentiment
  • Opprobrium: public disgrace or ill fame that follows from conduct considered grossly wrong or vicious

 

3 thoughts on “Wordy Wednesday

  1. We read Wild for our upcoming book club — while I had no problems getting through it, can’t say I necessarily enjoyed it, and found the writing distracting in between those gems, similar to what you have noted. Always enjoy your book reviews and of course the expanded vocab!

      1. If we have time, we may discuss the book 🙂 …. actually a book that generated some really interesting discussion was the story of Eight Days — the story of Nellie Bly and Elisabeth Bisland’s around the world race. A bit detailed and wordy, but fascinating story of these two women.

Leave a Reply

