September Reads (2014)

September 2014

Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn

Gone Girl was the first – until this point only – book of Flynn’s I read. I’m glad I went back in time to her first novel. Like Gone Girl, this book is a far-fetched but thrilling page-turner. I liked the flawed and fragile main character/narrator. This was an impressive debut novel worth reading, especially if you want to enter a twisted world that will stick with you after the final page.

How Not to Calm A Child On A Plane by Johanna Stein

I’m a sucker for funny mommy memoirs and this one did nothing to lessen my love affair with the genre. Stein had me laughing out loud, and not in the cheap Facebook sense of the acronym. Actually laughing. Out loud. She does what great comics do – push a little beyond what is comfortable and decent in a way that disarms you and has you laughing at something your grandmother would not approve of. This book is not for the faint of heart or those who can’t overlook profanity. For the rest of you…read it.

The Painter by Peter Heller

I liked this book and loved the writing in this book. Heller writes in a style that reads like stream of consciousness but feels like poetry. His prose is lovely and lyrical. I want to read more of Heller’s work. This particular plot wasn’t my favorite, but his writing style is so unique and fun that I can’t wait to read more. I want to see what he can do with a different story.

 How the Light Gets In by Louise Penny

I met Penny (and Chief Inspector Gamache) in The Beautiful Mystery. This is the next book in the series. I love Louise Penny as a mystery writer. There is plenty of action and intrigue in her books but she also gives the reader great characters and side plots. The action portion of this plot was a bit contrived, but I liked the characters enough to smile more than I eye rolled.

Absolutely Almost by Lisa Graff

I’m not sure where I came across this kid lit recommendation (I suspect it was Nerdy Book Club), but I’m glad I did. I wasn’t ready to read it aloud to Son just yet, as the main characters is years ahead of him in school. But, I’m sure I’ll encourage him to read it in a year or two. What I liked most was how ordinary the main character was. A struggling student with no labeled deficiency. I hard tryer who never quite achieves his goal. There was none of the ending vindication that so often occurs in children’s literature, just a realistic story about struggle.

6 thoughts on “September Reads (2014)

    1. It doesn’t suck you in as quick or keep you quite as on the edge of your seat as Gone Girl, but it was still good. But, if you want to devour a book, this might not be the one. A page turner, but not necessarily an up ’til midnight book.

  1. I cannot wait for the Gone Girl movie. I read the other books and found them SO dark, which shouldn’t have surprised me as Gone Girl was obviously really dark. But maybe I just tried to do too many in row. I’m about to launch into a YA reading binge.

Leave a Reply

