Wordy Wednesday

words

WORDY: using or containing many (usually too many) words

I embrace Wednesdays in my own way. In lieu of a photo, I offer you this random collection of other people’s words that impacted me this week as well as a handful of new words I added to my vocabulary.  I acknowledge that I am offering you less than the going exchange rate of 1,000 words per picture.  Forgive me.

Other People’s Words


This week I finished reading Peter Heller’s book The Painter.  It seems fitting to celebrate the book with a quote about art:

The reason people are so moved by art and why artists tend to take it all so seriously is that if they are real and true they come to the painting with everything they know and feel and love, and all the things they don’t know, and some of the things they hope, and they are honest about them all and put them on the canvas. What can be more serious?  What more really can be at stake except life itself, which is why maybe artists are always equating the two and driving everybody crazy by insisting that art is life.  Well.  Cut us some slack.   It’s harder work than one might imagine, and riskier, and takes a very special and dear kind of mad person.

Then, I picked up Johanna Stein’s How not to calm a child on a plane and other lessons in parenting from a highly questionable source and enjoyed a laugh (or ten) per page.  It’s more funny than any small quote can do justice, but here’s a taste:

…even a brainless jellyfish knows you never ask a lady if she is “with child,” even if said child is bungee jumping on the end of an umbilical cord that’s dangling from said lady’s lady bits…

…Of course I recognize this anxiety for what it is – an absurd and totally irrational fear that has no basis in reality but is predicated on an insidious set of cultural beliefs, which contribute to the notion that there exists a “perfect” style of mothering, but which of course we can all see is “perfect” only in that it is “perfectly” unattainable. On the other hand, if I do die trying…I think I can safely say that that “Mother of the Year” Award is mine.

“29 things I’ve lost since becoming a parent… #21 – A handle on current events; if pop culture knowledge was an animal, mine would resemble a groundhog emerging every six weeks to randomly yell out a social trend (“Gangnam Style!” “Game of Thrones!” “Ryan Gosling!”) only to retreat back into its hole of social oblivion and stale macaroni for another six weeks.

Words I Had to Ask Webster About


  • Prurient: marked by or arousing an immoderate or unwholesome interest or desire
  • Putsch: a secretly plotted and suddenly executed attempt to overthrow a government
Leave a Reply

