Wordy Wednesday

words

WORDY: using or containing many (usually too many) words

I see Wordless Wednesday blog posts and often think, “I should do that.” But then I remember that I’m terrible at taking pictures.  So, I embrace Wednesdays in my own way.  In lieu of a photo, I offer you other people’s words that impacted me this week as well as a handful of new words I added to my vocabulary.  I acknowledge that I am offering you less than the going exchange rate of 1,000 words per picture.  Forgive me.

Other People’s Words


This week I’ve been reading Peter Heller’s book The Painter. I’ve been giving myself permission to just read and enjoy it, rather than taking notes on passages I love. But, as a Seattle girl I couldn’t pass up sharing this evocative passage about rain:

…What I’d noticed was that here, in the windshadow of the mountain, it often smelled like rain. It might be raining up on the ridge, I might see the veils and rags of rain hanging down out of the scudding clouds, I might see shrouds of rain hauled over the country the way a fishing boat might drag a net, but – no rain here. A spatter, maybe, then nothing.  Willy told me when I first moved in that it was like living in a strip bar.  So close, looks so good and you never get laid.

Words I Had to Ask Webster About


  • Caterwauling: protesting or complaining noisily
  • Fugue: a disturbed state of consciousness in which the one affected seems to perform acts in full awareness but upon recovery cannot recollect the acts performed
  • Panopticon: a circular prison with cells arranged around a central well, from which prisoners could at all times be observed
  • Scudding: running before a gale
Leave a Reply

