Wordy Wednesday

words

WORDY: using or containing many (usually too many) words

I see Wordless Wednesday blog posts and often think, “I should do that.”  But then I remember that I’m terrible at taking pictures.  So, I embrace Wednesdays in my own way.  In lieu of a photo, I offer you this random collection of other people’s words that impacted me this week as well as a handful of new words I added to my vocabulary.  I acknowledge that I am offering you less than the going exchange rate of 1,000 words per picture.  Forgive me. 

Other People’s Words


I read Jenny Offill’s Dept. Of Speculation this week.  Here are a few passages that made me laugh or ponder: 

…The Buddhists shy there are 121 states of consciousness.  Of these, only three involve misery or suffering. Most of us spend our time moving back and forth between these three.

…People keep telling me to do yoga. I tried it once at the place down the street.  The only part I liked was the part at the end when the teacher covered you with a blanket and you got to pretend you were dead for ten minutes. 

…There is still such crookedness in my heart.  I had thought loving two people so much would straighten it.

…Hard to believe I used to think love was such a fragile business.  Once when he was still young, I saw a bit of his scalp showing through his hair and I was afraid.  But it was just a cowlick.  Now sometimes it shows through for real, but I feel only tenderness.

…It is important if someone asks you to remember one of your happiest times to consider not only the question but also the questioner.  If the question is asked by someone you love, it is fair to assume that this person hopes to feature in this recollection he has called forth.  But you could, if you were wrong and if you had a crooked heart, forget this most obvious and endearing thing and instead speak of a time you were all alone, in the country, with no one wanting a thing from you, not even love.  You could say that was your happiest tie.  And if you did this then telling about this happiest of times would cause the person you most want to be happy to be unhappy.

…How has she become one of those people who wears yoga pants all day? She used to make fun of those people…But now it seems possible that the truth about getting older is that there are fewer and fewer things to make fun of until finally there is nothing you are sure you will never be.

 Words I Had to Ask Webster About 


 

  • Estivate: to spend the summer, as at a specific place or in a certain activity
  • Geminate: to couple or arrange in pairs
  • Nepenthe: something that induces a pleasurable sensation of forgetfulness
  • Squamulous: covered with tiny scales
  • Voluptuary: characterized by preoccupation with luxury and sensual pleasure
3 thoughts on “Wordy Wednesday

Leave a Reply

