I was wrong. You were right.

MIDDLE AGE: The period of life between young adulthood and old age, now usually regarded as between about forty-five and sixty

Today I am officially the age Husband was when we met.  In those early days, I made the mistake of referring to him as “middle aged.”  He was not pleased.  I was not deterred.  I argued that men typically only live into their 70s, so mid-thirties was halfway through (in the middle).   He would not concede.

The debate has raged for over a decade.  On each of his birthdays, I ask if he is ready to claim the label.  Each year he declines.

Luckily, with age comes a little bit of wisdom and, feeling slightly more wise today than yesterday, I am ready to choose being happy over being right.  I am ready to end the debate and graciously concede that thirty-four is not middle-aged.

The Oxford English Dictionary will back me up.  It puts thirty-four firmly in the young adulthood camp and, to ease the bitter pill of my defeat, officially diagnoses Husband’s current age as deserving the label he’s been resisting since we met.

 

Dear Husband,

You were right.

I was wrong.

Love,

Me

4 thoughts on “I was wrong. You were right.

Leave a Reply

