Is Your Preschooler Drunk?

INTOXICATED: affected by an intoxicant and especially by alcohol

My co-worker brought me a snippet of a story from the local paper this morning that reminded her of my article on walkability.  It reads:

“A recital of the alphabet isn’t just a memory test: It can give way to slurring the letters “L-M-N-O-P” if the speaker has been drinking or doing drugs.  And most people say the letters quickly; all in one or two big exhaled breaths than can carry the telltale scents of alcohol or marijuana.”

Next time I hear Daughter recite the alphabet with only 23 letters (…H, I J, K, LMNO, P…) I guess I better sniff her breath and see if her pupils are dilated.

One thought on “Is Your Preschooler Drunk?

Leave a Reply

