These Boots are Made for Walking (sort of)

ANNUAL: occurring or happening every year or once a year

These boots trail shoes were made for walking

And that’s just what they’ll do

One of these For the next seven days

These boots trail shoes are gonna walk all over you the Pacific Crest Trail

Last year, about this time, my brother and I headed off on what now appears to have been our first annual sibling summer backpack.  We spent four days trekking 45 miles through Washington’s Pasayten Wilderness.

At the time, I was in need of a pilgrimage to mark the end of an era.  The hike did the trick.  I returned a little less burdened by the weight of the transition and a little more ready to embrace the changes.

Today I am packing my bag for a seven day, 150 mile sibling trek along Washington’s southern section of the Pacific Crest Trail.  Because, you know, my brother suggested it and I’m an adoring little sister who still loves to tag along on her big brother’s activities.

Last year, when I loaded up my pack I had a mental list of what I was looking to find on the trail: clarity, soul refreshment, and an official marking of an ending.  I used this John Muir quote to try to summarize the end of my hike last year:

“Climb the mountains and get their good tidings. Nature’s peace will flow into you as sunshine flows into trees. The winds will blow their own freshness into you, and the storms their energy, while cares will drop off like autumn leaves.”

This year, I’m not looking for anything in particular.  But, I’m excited to see what I’ll find.

I’m choosing to claim John Muir’s quote as the launch for my trip this year rather than the epitaph.  I will do my best to follow his instructions and receive the mountains’ good tidings, let nature’s peace flow through my veins, be refreshed by the winds and energized by the storms.

And, I’ll keep my eyes open for surprises along the way.

Leave a Reply

