A Different Kind of Tired

TIRED: drained of strength and energy; fatigued often to the point of exhaustion; obviously worn by hard use; run-down

I’m tired.

Not your average mother-of-two tired.

Not the more extreme kid-up-all-night tired.

Not even the can’t-take-another-step tired that comes at the end of a long trail.

This tired is different.

It’s deeper.

Wider.

It’s a ten-hour-field-trip-with-fifty-kindergarteners tired.

I’ve never felt anything like it.

I hope to never feel it again.

Good night.

 

6 thoughts on “A Different Kind of Tired

  1. Our 3 year old had a 3 hour nap yesterday. I felt guilty for falling asleep myself for about an hour instead of cleaning something. Then, I fell asleep for the night before he did. I’m getting old!

  2. I get it! Everyone, on the face of the earth, should at some time in their life, experience this kind of tired. And then go thank a kindergarten teacher. Or any teacher for that matter!

    1. I know, I just kept thinking that while I was going to work the next day to savor the quiet and calm, Son’s teacher was hanging out with kids again. How she does it I’ll never know.

Leave a Reply

