How to Be a Morning Person: A Step-by-Step Guide

MORNING: the time from sunrise to noon

It’s early.  I am dressed.  My lunch is packed and my water bottle is filled.  I have a few minutes to kill before I lace up my boots and meet the neighbors for a hike.

I am a morning person.  Always have been.   But “morning person” is just a nice way of saying that I’m lame after dark.  Always have been.

When Husband and I started dating, I told him not to call me after nine o’clock.  One night he called at 8:45 and we enjoyed exactly 15 minutes of conversation.

Recently, one of our neighbors called to ask a questions.  Husband said, “Let me check to see if she is still awake.”  It  was 8 p.m.

You see, that is the morning person’s secret.  We don’t go to bed at the same time as the late risers.

I haven’t seen midnight in years, but I’m pretty sure that both Cinderella and I reap dire consequences when the clock strikes twelve.  Frankly, I notice the consequences long before that.  My ability to listen attentively ends around eight o’clock.  My ability to stay conscious while reading ends at nine.  Ten o’clock marks the end of my ability to speak in complete sentences.  And major functions – like balance and coordination – abandon me shortly thereafter.

Recently, my return to work has necessitated really early mornings.  Starting early is the only way to work enough hours and get home in time to pick the kids up before dinner.  My alarm goes off at 5 a.m. I am on a bus by 5:28 and at my desk logging on to my computer at 6 a.m.   By the time some of my friends wake up, I’ve already billed a few hours.

It’s not magic that makes this possible.  It’s planning.  My mornings begin the night before.  I pack my lunch, choose my clothes, restock my gym bag and put my keys were I can find them.   The last step is essential – and the best indicator of whether or not I will be on time for work.

Yesterday, a friend was moaning about an early morning on Facebook.  She questioned how morning people did it.  So, for my friend D, I offer this primer on how to be a morning person:

Step One: Go to bed.

Step Two: Sleep.

Step Three: Wake up.

Step Four: Be pleasant.  Fake it if you have to.

That’s all there is too it.  Oh, wait.  I left out an important detail.  Step One occurs at 8pm.  That, my friend, is how I do it.

It’s a choice.  You can be a morning person or you can find out what comes on after Jeopardy.

You can’t have both.

Time for me to go.

In a few hours, when you rub the sleep from your eyes and read this post, I will already have logged eight miles and bagged a mountain.  Take that late riser.

6 thoughts on “How to Be a Morning Person: A Step-by-Step Guide

  1. I was just thinking about your blog and then up popped this post in my reader feed. I love it! I’ve also been working hard at becoming more of an early riser, though I’ve always been a morning person. Going to bed early makes such a difference — and getting up promptly feels so deliciously satisfying.

  2. Agree! I am not naturally a morning person, but I married one and have two young daughters who take after him, so I’ve learned that in order to get a jump start on my day I need to wake early. I love those few minutes of quiet in the house before the rest rise… Even better than those late-night tv shows or Pinterest distractions. 🙂

  3. oh guilty on not a morning person. it’s insomnia I say and a toddler and a 10month old. I am happy that you get to enjoy those first light. When you are enjoying your sunrays please think of this mom, who’s still bleary eyed at 11am.

Leave a Reply

