I’ve heard of a third wheel, but a third leg?

APPENDAGE: a subordinate or derivative body part; especially a limb or analogous part

Daughter was distraught before bedtime.  Frantic.  Nearly inconsolable.

After some deep breaths and investigation, we discovered that a comment from Husband about Son’s new tooth being permanent – the same tooth he would have until he died – was the source of her distress.   The comment got Daughter thinking…and crying.  When she could finally explain herself she bawled, “I don’t want to die.”

I took her to another room to snuggle and calm down.  But, I didn’t know what to say.  I wanted to take the easy way out and say, “You’re not going to die.”  But that’s not true.  We’re all mortal.  And, despite my illusions, I don’t control the world and can’t even promise her that she will live a long time.  So, I was stuck trying to find true words of comfort.

Stalling for time, I asked questions to get a grasp of her understanding and fears about death.

I asked, “What do you think happens when you die?”

Her lip quivered and she said, “You grow another leg.”

And, that’s when I lost it.  I know it was inappropriate in the face of her fear but I found it absolutely impossible not to laugh.  There I was thinking we were about to discuss the afterlife, how we lose people we love but keep them in our hearts, etc.  But, no.  The necessary discussion was far more basic.

Third leg?

What are the teaching her at that Lutheran preschool?  I know about the trinity, but the tripod?  That’s news to me.

2 thoughts on “I’ve heard of a third wheel, but a third leg?

Leave a Reply

