Learning to love a lopsided tree

LOPSIDED: leaning to one side; lacking in balance, symmetry, or proportion; disproportionately heavy on one side

In my perfect world, things are tidy.  Straight.  Evenly spaced.  Symmetrical.  Labeled.  With typed labels.  In a consistent font.  Preferably san serif.

But, I live in the real world – with children.  So, my neurotic nirvana remains mostly out of reach.  Sure, the kids’ toy bins are labeled and I re-arrange my canning jars when one shelf gets so empty that it throws off the balance of the pantry…but mostly I have learned to live lopsided.  The hamper has too many clothes; the closet too few.  The floor has heaps of toys while my carefully labeled all-the-same-size-and-lid-color totes sit empty.  There are books on the tables and dishes on the shelves.

Every year in December the voices in my head do battle.  In one corner: Joyful.  Gloved up and ready for a fight in the other corner: Just Right.  Can I let the kids help decorate the tree and fireplace?  Without me assigning the precise placement of each ornament?  Or, do I squash their enthusiasm and eagerness with too much direction?  Can I accept the adorable ceramic stockings dangling from a less than ideal branch that Son deemed “perfect”?  Can I allow Daughter to hang three balls of the same size and color in the same quadrant of the tree while grinning from ear to ear?  Can I embrace the Star Wars ship that I can never remember the name of in a place of honor on the mantel?

I am proud to say that this year I was able to answer “yes” a record number of times.  Sure, I reviewed “guiding principles” for decorating the tree and assigned Nonna as Daughter’s shadow to re-direct any truly atrocious choices.  But, Just Right took a sound licking and Joyful emerged victorious.

And, in the end the tree is perfect…when you view it from our front door.  With your head tilted slightly to the left.

One thought on “Learning to love a lopsided tree

Leave a Reply

