A Birthday Letter

BIRTHDAY: an anniversary of a birth

Dear Son,

Today is your birthday.  You are six.

You are happy because you will be recognized at school today, receive gifts, and eat cake.  I am happy because I am your mom and you are a terrific kid.

You look before you leap.  Always have.  Your reluctance to leap into this world resulted in a near pachyderm-length pregnancy for me and your eventual extraction against your will.

You had a furrowed brow for the first few months of your life.  As your proud parents, Dad and I were reasonably sure you were coming up with a plan for world peace.  Now, I recognize those furrowed brows as your disapproval of being forced onto someone else’s schedule.  Though, we are still counting on you as a peacemaker.  Remember your baptism blessing:

Who is wise and understanding among you? Let them show it by their good life, by deeds done in the humility that comes from wisdom….But the wisdom that comes from heaven is first of all pure; then peace-loving, considerate, submissive, full of mercy and good fruit, impartial and sincere. Peacemakers who sow in peace reap a harvest of righteousness. (James 3:13, 17-18)

You have grown so much in the past six years, but if I close my eyes tight enough during our bedtime snuggle I can still conjure those early days.  Your arms encompass me now instead of the way it used to be when I could cradle you in one of mine, but you still find the same spot on my shoulder to nuzzle.  Your skin is still soft, your eyes still have a depth beyond your years and your feet are still ugly.  You are my little boy and sometimes I want to freeze the moments.

It’s not that I want you to stop growing.  I don’t.  I am curious to see what the future holds for you and excited to see the person you will become.  I solemnly swear not to become the mother in the creepiest children’s book ever.  But, what I want is to keep the memories fresh enough that I can occasionally flip through them when I’m feeling sentimental  (or trying to calm down when you are late for curfew).

I never want to forget the day we met.  That was the day you transformed my life and made me a mom.  Being your mom is a privilege for which I will be forever thankful.

I am proud of the person you are becoming.  I love to watch you ponder things.  Your persistence continues to astonish me.  I love your tender heart and your gentle manner.  I love your mellow temperament (seriously, LOVE it!).  I love your curiosity.

I love you.

Happy birthday, precious boy.

May you continue to grow in grace as you grow in stature.

Love,

Mom

2 thoughts on “A Birthday Letter

Leave a Reply

