Time to Pay Up

INDEBTED: owing gratitude or recognition to another, beholden

I went to a baby shower for a dear friend yesterday.  Let me tell you a little bit about our friendship:

We met in college and have been friends ever since.  We have shared countless outdoor adventures.  She was the first person I was ever roped to.  Her dad took me on the trip where I decided I hated mountaineering (and another trip where my original convictions were confirmed).  She helped keep my spirits up the day I forgot my hiking boots and was forced to bushwhack in Tevas.  She was with me when I climbed my first mountain.  She was with me when I climbed my list mountain.   She went with me on my first post-baby ski trip.  She walked next to me when I took my skis off and walked down the remainder of the hill.

She has met the skeletons in my closet.  She knows about the time I left a note on a That Boy’s windshield.  I was with her when the lady behind the liquor store counter mentioned that she dated my dad when I was an infant and had been meaning to return my grandfather’s gun (please keep in mind that my parents were married until I was in kindergarten).

She married the brother of a great friend of mine.  I was one of her bridesmaids; she was my maid of honor.  She and her husband made many of our adventures with children possible.  They carried more than their fair share of backpacking gear so that I could carry Son on his first backpacking trip.  They kindly pretend that our children shrieking in the middle of the night does not disrupt their enjoyment of our shared campsites.

We are slowly building a compound.  She lives in a condo but joined me on my chicken-raising adventure by buying one of our hens and helping us to care for them (you can read her hen Henrietta’s obituary here).  We share a freezer and canning supplies.  She is the one friend I know will come over when I have purchased hundreds of pounds of produce that needs to be canned.

In Husband and my early days of parenthood, she and her hubby walked dinners over to our house.  They let us drop our kids off at their place when my evening meetings start before Husband gets home from work.  They come to all our children’s birthday parties.  They water our garden when we go on vacation.  They chaperoned our trip to Disneyland.  They have served as photographers at our children’s sporting events.

Well, it’s time for us to start returning the favors.

So friend, consider this post your IOU.

Because I do.

Meals.

Slave labor.

Sherpa duties.

Short notice babysitting.

Trip planning and tour guide services.

All of the above and more.

6 thoughts on “Time to Pay Up

  1. Wow, that’s one very special friend you’ve got. What a fabulous relationship you’ve described and it’s wonderful to see that you really don’t take it for granted. May you make many more memories together over the years to come.

    1. Special indeed. I do not take her for granted, but I do feel like we’ve been taking more than giving for the past few years. I’m excited to have a turn reciprocating the many kindnesses we’ve received.

  2. Wow! What an awesome friendship! And….it’s stood the test of time and through one-sided parenthood. Impressive!!!

Leave a Reply

