On Desk Row

FINAL: coming at the end, being the last in a series or process

Last week, Huffington Post published an article on popular last meal requests from death row inmates.  Turns out, when the end is near folks want comfort food…preferably deep fried with a cup of high fructose corn syrup.

Well, I feel like I’m on Desk Row.  Tomorrow, Son starts kindergarten and next Monday I return to an office job.  For Son, this is the beginning of what will be decades of desk learning.  For me, it is a return to hunched shoulders and sore eyes from hours in front of a computer.  In summary, the end is near.

The end of lazy mornings.

The end of afternoon naps.

The end of random road trips.

Then end of mid-week trips to the zoo.

Starting tomorrow, we need to be out of the house by a certain time and our frolicking will be restricted to weekends and school breaks.

I’m feeling the need for a “last meal” of sorts.  One final day to revel in the flexibility of our soon to be former existence.  One final day of staying in pajamas past ten.  One final dip of our toes in the sand of a mid-week beach.  One final walk to the corner coffee shop for hot chocolates with whip cream poodle tails.  One final extended story time session…

My list of requested “lasts” is long.  I’m not sure how much I can fit in.  But, I hope to make the most of this last day of life as we’ve known it.  I want to remember this day as a day we savored the slowness and soaked up simplicity.

2 thoughts on “On Desk Row

Leave a Reply

