The Liebster Award

RECOGNITION: special notice or attention

Random Dorkness (code name: Psychicquill) nominated me for The Liebster Award.  Thanks Psychicquill!

Like all blog awards, it comes with some homework.  I followed the rules where I could and ignored them where I couldn’t:

  • post 11 things about yourself
  • answer the 11 questions from the person who gave you the award
  • list 11 questions
  • pass the award to 11 others

11 things about me: 

11 questions from Psychicquill:

  1. Do you like hot wings?  Not unless they are made of tofu.
  2. Do you like vodka?  Not particularly.
  3. What do you think about moonwalks?  I liked it when Michael Jackson did it.
  4. What do you think about combining a moonwalk with hot wings and vodka?   Sounds like a frat party.
  5. Who would clean up the mess?  The nearest mommy, I suppose. 
  6. How much wood would a woodchuck chuck if a woodchuck could chuck wood?  Wood is not for throwing.  If the woodchuck needed something to throw, I would get him a ball.
  7. What if the woodchuck wouldn’t chuck wood, but he *would* chuck vodka? See #6
  8. Or hot wings?  See #6.
  9. Or both vodka and hot wings?  See #6.
  10. On a moonwalk?   I feel reasonably confident that  NASA would not hire a      drunk, carnivorous woodchuck with impulse control issues. 
  11. Who would clean up *that* mess?  The nearest mommy.  It’s always the nearest mommy.

11 questions for my nominees:

  1. Do you still have your tonsils?
  2. Would you bungee jump?
  3. What was the last book you read?
  4. What is stashed under your bed?
  5. What is the kindest thing someone has done for you this week?
  6. Is there a movie you have watched more than a dozen times?
  7. When you have an hour to yourself, how do you spend it?
  8. What is your least favorite chore around the house?
  9. Saturday or Sunday?
  10. What was your favorite children’s book?
  11. Was the recognition worth this hassle?

11 7 nominees:

Eleven was too many nominees for me.  It’s not because I don’t enjoy lots of wordpress blogs, but because there aren’t enough blogs that I read consistently enough to vouch for as a whole.  I also tried to limit my nominations to blogs that are focused on similar topics to mine (in hopes that if you read my blog I can introduce you to another writer or two you might enjoy).  The envelope, please…and the Liebster Award goes to:

Not Quite Old: She’s witty and she draws.

Parenting is Funny: A compilation of hilarious things kids say and do.

Nonsense to Momsense: She can make a colonoscopy funny.

Poole Party of 5: Crafty mama extraordinaire.  Prepare to be inspired.

All that makes you…: Some moms have all the luck.  This lady’s life provides endless blogging fodder.

Feisty Red Hair: I like the mix of musings, recipes, and book reviews.  And, I’m trying to suck up so that she’ll invite me to dinner some day!

But Mostly Mommy: I find her writing charming, honest, and engaging.  She’s the kind of person I would want to have over for tea.

3 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. You guys are funny! How did I not see this until today? Congrats and I love to write only with a cheap medium point white Bic disposable pen. Then I take a picture of my list of my list, (no poetry here and if I did I wouldn’t want anyone to be able to trace it back to me) and then go to the store with a picture on my phone of my handwritten list.

    1. No, but pretty sure it was a surgery planned by my parents to get me to shut up for a week.
    2. I would have bungee jumped when I was older but I am working daily to keep my boobies as close to my body as possible and this seems like a step away from that goal.
    3. Book? I haven’t been able to finish a book since I started blogging. I am trying to read “Let’s Pretend This Never Happened” by Jenny Lawson
    4. My laptop but I wish I had cookies under my bed. Since I started this whole blogging thing, getting up to get the cookies is the most exercise I have been getting.
    5. The chef went to the kitchen to bring me and my girlfriends more grits when everyone else was sad they were out of them at the buffet. Awesome, right?
    6. No.
    7. Gardening.
    8. Unloading the dishwasher.
    9. Saturday.
    10. “The Big Bag Wolf is Good” tied with “Bootsie Barker Bites”
    11. I hope someone reads my answers since I am super late and I am super bad and responding and following directions, but I love awards. Bad Abbie.

    Thanks again!
    Abbie

Leave a Reply

