“I see,” said the blind man.

VIGILANT: alertly watchful especially to avoid danger

Yesterday, I took Son and Daughter to the Pacific Science Center.  During our escapade, Daughter stopped my heart with a disappearing act.  I estimate 4.3 years were removed from my life.

Son and Daughter were playing in the water table.  Son was working on building dams and Daughter seemed amused by the floating boats.  Until she wasn’t.

It happened so fast.  I was helping Son build a dam and then looked up and couldn’t find Daughter anywhere.  I am not a fearful person, but there is something truly terrifying about losing a child in a room full of strangers with multiple exits.

Luckily, I found her quickly.  She had walked into the tot play area adjacent to the water table and was happily climbing the side without a care in the world.

I was surprised that she was able to get into the gated area alonet since there is a Science Center employee stationed at the gated entrance.  I had always assumed that the employee was there to ensure every short person had a corresponding tall person before entering or exiting.

I quickly walked into the tot area to discuss the specific expectations associated with my previous command to “stay close to Mommy” with Daughter.

On the way through the gate I nearly tripped over the gate-guard employee’s white cane.

Really?

Surely there is a more appropriate job assignment.

8 thoughts on ““I see,” said the blind man.

    1. I felt the same way. We saw many employees with special needs throughout our day. I am glad my kids get to see people with a range of abilities gainfully employed. But, perhaps not a blind person guarding the toddler entry. Just seems like an obviously bad fit to me.

  1. Skip education and just stick with Chuck E Cheese. I’ve never seen such militant policy in making sure children leave only with the appropriate adults. Sure, I appreciate them, but when I found my kid licking the stamp off his hand which was the ONLY WAY I COULD CLAIM HIM AS MY OWN, I got a little panicky.

  2. How scary! I am glad you found her quickly. I completely panic when I can’t make sight contact with my dudes. This exact situation happened to me at a children’s museum, and I understand what you mean by it taking years off of your life.

Leave a Reply

