Love

LOVE: strong affection for another arising out of kinship or personal ties; unselfish loyal and benevolent concern for the good of another

I confess that today leaves little time for writing.  We are hosting a party this evening.  84 people have RSVP’d.  I’ve still got a long list of cleaning and cooking that I hope to accomplish.  I’m operating on a fine balance of adrenaline and caffeine.  

When I began the April A-Z Challenge, I knew I wanted to use “L” to do a post on love.  I have been drafting posts in my head for a week or so.  Some were about the various ways to express love – essentially the cliff notes for the book The Five Love Languages.  Others were about love being a choice to prioritize the needs of others not a feeling that fades when music and flowers stop – which started to get a little preachy.  On and on it went.  Me attempting to find a post worthy of this word.

Last night I asked Son, “What do you do when you love someone?”

He looked at me with a slightly annoyed face – it’s the face he uses when I ask easy questions that he knows I know he knows the answer to.  Then he indulged me and replied, “You tell them.  And, you give them hugs.”

There you have it.   

Say it out loud.

Make your actions match your words.

Leave a Reply

