Pachyderm

PACHYDERM: any of various nonruminant mammals (as an elephant, a rhinoceros, or a hippopotamus) of a former group (Pachydermata) that have hooves or nails resembling hooves and usually thick skin

Yesterday was my day to work at Son’s school.  I overheard the following conversation on the walk back from recess:*

Kevin:[…some proposal I couldn’t quite hear].  Do you want to do that?

Steph: I can’t.  I promised my friend Laura we’d live together and both be veterinarians.

Kevin: You could break your promise.

Steph: Oh, NO!  I would never break a promise!

Kevin: Well, sometimes it happens, even if you don’t mean to.

Steph: Laura is my best friend.  I would NEVER break a promise to her.

Kevin: Well, that’s just how life goes sometimes. Sometimes you break promises.

Steph: I don’t.

Kevin: You might forget that you made a promise.

Steph: I’ll never forget.

Kevin: You might when you grow up.

Steph: I’ll never forget a promise to Laura.

Kevin: Well, then.  I think you must be an elephant.  Elephants never forget.  Humans do, but elephants don’t.

* Names changed to protect the amusing

2 thoughts on “Pachyderm

    1. Right? I liked listening to the little guy trying to explain to his idealistic friend about the likely end of preschool promises. And, her complete shock at the idea that a 5-year old promise may not endure the test of time. It is a sweet age. They are learning so much about how the world works and yet still believe whole-heartedly in myths and magic. We should all be so lucky!

Leave a Reply

