Sunshine

SUNSHINE: something (as a person, condition, or influence) that radiates warmth, cheer, or happiness

What do I do when I need inspiration?  Procrastinate, of course! I was doing just that this afternoon instead of picking a topic to write about. Surely, something would come to me as I drafted invitations for our upcoming party.  Strike one.  Perhaps an idea would percolate up while I perused chick-flick titles at the video store.  Strike Two.

Just in the nick of time, I discovered a note in my email inbox letting me know that Stacy Dymalski nominated me for a Sunshine Award.  I extend to her my gratitude for the kindness, the affirmation, and the post topic…

Here goes my attempt to fulfill the award requirements:

First, the gratitude:

Stacy, you rock!  For those who have not had the pleasure of reading her blog, you are in for a treat!

Second, the visual:

Third, the Q&A:

Favorite color?  

For me it’s less about an affinity for a particular color and more about liking items to be the color they were intended to be.  Too many of my things have crayon marks, oil spots, mysterious goo, or the grungy not-quite-right hues that come from years of imprecise laundry sorting.

Favorite animal?

Favorite animal a decoration – a cow.  I have a cow collection that spans nearly 30 years.  Favorite animal in my backyard – a goat.  It took me seven years of marriage for Husband to agree to backyard chickens.  I will know that I have become completely irresistible when he agrees to a goat.

Favorite number?

Four – the number of people required to make our family complete.

Favorite non-alcoholic drink?

Coffee.  I like it black, with milk, mixed with chocolate, from a barista, from a diner pot, topped with whipping cream, through an IV…really I just like it flowing through my veins.  I don’t care how it gets there.

Facebook or Twitter?

Facebook.  Birds and birds alone should “tweet.”

My passion?

Shouldn’t this be plural?

Getting or giving presents?

Giving – especially when I’ve come up with an idea that is unique or homemade.

Favorite pattern?

Rock, Paper, Scissors.  Rock, Paper Scissors.  That pattern has helped me survive the time between ordering and food delivery at many a restaurant with small children.

Favorite day of the week?

Wednesday.  It is our one “un-programmed” weekday.  It’s the day we have time for a hot breakfast.  It’s the day we can schedule special outings or playdates with far away friends.

Favorite flower?

Star-gazer lilies mixed with roses reminds me of the first bouquet I received from Husband.  Sunflowers, tulips and daffodils make me feel cheerful.  Any flower that arrives at my house for no reason is a hit in my book.

Finally, here are a few* WordPress blogs I think deserve sunshine of their own:

Slow Food Seattle

Wandering Mary

One Great Mom

Fuzz and Sunshine

The Year of What If

* I’m new to WordPress (both as a reader and a writer); please accept my apologies for only offering 5 rather than the 10 nominees requested.  What do you say we pretend it is double-coupon Sunday?

UPDATE (May 2012): Turn Around and Swim kindly nominated me for the Sunshine Award too.  Since I’ve done the work already, I kindly say “Thank you.”   You can never have too much sunshine.

Leave a Reply

