Humble

HUMBLE: ranking low in a hierarchy.

Sometimes, the questions from the backseat of the car are very revealing. I am constantly surprised at the thoughts being processed in those little heads while we’re driving to and fro. The following dialogue (reproduced for your reading pleasure) revealed my son’s perception of my status in our family:

Son: “Mom, where will you live when I grow up?”

Me: “What do you mean?”

Son: “I mean, where will you live when I am a grown up?”

Me: “I’m not sure what you’re asking kiddo. Daddy and I will probably still live in our house, but we might move. Why do you ask?”

Son: “Well, it’s going to get crowded in our house when Sister, Daddy and I are all grown-ups. There won’t be enough room for all of us. Where will you go?”

Me: [choking slightly] “Well, actually…when you and Sister turn into grown-ups you’ll move out and live in your own house.  Daddy and I will still live together.”

Son: [laughing]  “Stop teasing! What really happens?”

Me: “That is what happens. Daddy and Uncle use to live with Papa and Nonna, but then they turned into grown-ups, moved out, and got their own houses. Mommy used to live with Grandma. Then I turned into a grown-up and moved out.  That’s how it works.”

Son: [after a few seconds] “I guess I’ll just go live with Papa and Nonna when I’m a grown up.”

Me: “I’m sure they’d be happy to have you.”

Leave a Reply

