Sir Mix-A-Lot and Missing Socks

by DefiningMotherhood

PARODY: a literary or musical work in which the style of an author or work is closely imitated for comic effect or in ridicule, a feeble or ridiculous imitation

I’m a smart woman.  I’m a reasonably organized housekeeper.

But, I’m stumped.

Will someone please tell me where all the “other” socks go?

My basket of one-hit-wonders is full of misfits with no sign of a mate in sight.

“Baby Got Socks”

I like matched socks and I can not lie

You other mothers can’t deny

When the laundry is done

And you’re down by one

You get miffed. You’ve had enough

Where did that sock get stuffed?

You’ve looked low and high and higher

Took a second glance in the dryer

Checked the pockets of the jeans you’re wearing

You’re mad and begin swearing

Other mothers tried to warn me

But those little socks can be so ornery

I read in Little MissMatched magazine

That unmatched socks are the thing

But, take the average mom and ask her that

She’ll tell you that look is not yet back

So, Mamas! (Yeah!) Mamas! (Yeah!)

Are you missing lots of socks? (Hell yeah!)

Take your clothes and shake ‘em!  (Shake ‘em!)

Shake ‘em! (Shake ‘em!)

Shake them ‘till they drop

Baby’s got socks!

