Versatile

by DefiningMotherhood

VERSATILE: changing or fluctuating readily; variable; embracing a variety of subjects, fields, or skills; turning with ease from one thing to another; capable of turning forward or backward; reversible; capable of moving laterally and up and down; having many uses or applications

  

Dr. Mom nominated me for the Versatile Blogger Award.  And to her, I offer an heartfelt “thank you.”  I like green and I’m pumped to get to post this image on my blog!  All the cool kids have it and I’m happy to be part of the club.  It’s nice to be recognized and even better when being nominated actually is as good as winning!  It’s not just something skinny actresses say…in this case that’s actually how the award works!

The one down side of internet blogging awards is that they have rules.  And, rules make for an awkward post.  So, I’m going to try to follow the rules without making this feel like a rule-following post.  First, I’d like to state (in my most humble voice) that I am totally qualified to receive this award.  I am versatile.  Really, I am.  I’ll prove it by demonstrating that I embody all parts of the versatile definition.

Changing or fluctuating readily.  My weight alone means I’ve got this portion of the definition in the bag.  But I could also refer you to my “what I want to be when I grow up” list.  

Variable.  Compare and contrast my mood before and after coffee. 

Embracing a variety of subjects, fields, or skills.  That’s me!  I like dabbling.  I am an urban planner, wanna-be farmer, business owner, knitter, baker, writer, crafter and outdoor enthusiast. The ratio varies from day to day.

Turning with ease from one thing to another.  “With ease” may be overstating things, but motherhood has definitely exercised my multi-tasking muscles.  The things I was able to do while breastfeeding would probably get me arrested in some states. 

Capable of turning forward or backward. I can totally do that.  While driving.  Don’t judge me.  Sometimes you really need to replace a pacifier.  Or wipe a nose.  Or bribe a child with a cookie.  Or encourage a child to comply with “the look.”

Reversible.  I’ve lost track of the number of times I’ve needed to reverse the shirt I’m wearing part way through the day.  Sometimes it’s because I put it on inside out in the morning and one of the kind moms at my kid’s school points out my mistake.   Other times, it started out the right way but then served as a burp cloth, tissue, or general purpose rag and required reversing to hide a disgusting crust of some sort.

Capable of moving laterally and up and down.  I think that’s called a squat, but I can’t be sure.  It has been a LONG time since I let Jillian Michaels boss me around in the comfort of my living room.

Having many uses or applications.  Seriously. I’m a mom – I wear a LOT of hats.  Chef.  Maid.  Taxi driver.  Clown.  Laundry lady.  Confidante.  Teacher.  Coach.  Librarian.  Playmate. Emotional band-aid.    

I hope you learned something.  Specifically, I hope you learned at least seven somethings.  And now for an awkward transition to fulfill the rest of my Versatile Blogger duties.  There’s no easy way to drop a bunch of names and links casually into a blog post.  So pretend like this is a smooth transition and check out these other versatile bloggers who must now follow THE RULES*:

Floor Pie (brilliant writing, powerful insights, and spot-on observations and humor)

Cherry Hill Design (hand-made cards that will inspire you to send some snail mail)

Feisty Red Hair (she is truly versatile – book recommendations, dinner party ideas, sweet musings and touching anecdotes.  Also, she’s a red-head like me….solidarity sister!)

Parenting Is Funny (it’s easier to laugh at someone else’s kids sometimes)

All that makes you… (her boys’ “Huck Finn” antics in a country club setting make me chuckle – I’m linking you directly to a post that will give you a sense of the madness)

Jean Day Friday (As a Seattle girl, I’m confused by the one-day limitation on denim…but I like her posts)

The Year of What If (She. Is. Honest.)

The Book of Alice (You’ve been meaning to write down the funny things your kids say.  She does.) 

Fuzz and Sunshine (she’s a versatile dabbler too…and her yarn is amazing!  Check out her Etsy shop!)

* absolutely no monitoring or enforcement will occur  

